Free your Mind

I’ve been so busy holding on to all things that I have bogged myself down. I can’t do much to help others until I allowevery-woman myself permission to feel what I was feeling and address these feelings. As many of us have been taught, we are every woman. We never let them see us sweat…..I can bring home the bacon, fry it up in a pan. But one thing I couldn’t do, was deal with my feelings.

Those things are in the way (feelings) and they don’t serve a purpose that will help meet any of my goals in life. I press them down and kept it moving because dinner has to be cooked, the kids have needs, and the job requires attention – so that I can keep it (because I need it to feed the kids).

One day at work, my friend/co-worker  and I were having a discussion and we came to the conclusion that we didn’t always have a safe place to express our feelings when we were children. A place to free my mind. I grew into the woman I am today whose kids called a ‘robot’ because they didn’t see my emotions. Once I gave myself permission to acknowledge my feelings over other people and not see them as a sign of weakness, I felt lighter. With that in mind, I want to encourage everyone that is reading this blog to take a moment to sit back, enjoy the funky divas and free your mind from under your brim!

Leave a Reply

