HAVE I LOST MY SPARKLING MIND???

By Constance Palelei

Source:http://constanceinthegiantjewelrybox.com/


 

clip_image002

As I sit in my dressing room between shows admiring my gorgeous Asscher cut band ring I have to ask myself… “Am I losing my mind?” I am a diamond jewelry designer completely in love with these synthetic stones I now work with. Where is the girl who shunned the idea of Cubic Zirconia? Where is the girl who loved to play with real diamonds and said proudly that every woman should own at least one diamond because you’re worth it? Am I cheating on my “Girls Best Friends”?

I never thought I would admit to it to myself but Synthetic stones have gotten crazy good! So good I wear them with confidence right next to my diamonds, and the only fear I have is that they will magnify the imperfections in my real diamonds. I would be lying if I said I didn’t still sometimes feel a bit shy about this around some of my snobbier jewelry friends but maybe, Coco Channel said it best,

“Women should mix fake and real. To ask a woman to wear real jewelry only is like asking her to cover herself with real flowers instead of flowery silk prints. She’d look faded in a few hours. I love fakes because I find such jewelry provocative and I find it disgraceful to walk around with millions on your neck just because you’re rich. The point of jewelry isn’t to make a woman look rich but to adorn her; not the same thing”

And I have always know that Coco is a reliable source because she also said “I only drink Champagne on two occasions: when I’m in love and when I’m not.” 😉

Still what’s so special about the particular ring I have been fawning over in my free time? It’s a row of 8 Asscher cuts…AKA a style I die over but can’t afford to make in real. Why? Because Asscher cuts:

A.) Are super hard to find in the general market place, you pretty much have to cut them yourself.

B.) If/when you do find them they are crazy expensive.

C.) If/when you do find them and can afford them…. GOOD LUCK finding eight of them in a calibrated (aka matching) size to then set in a band.

What’s so special about the Asscher cut? Imagine a stunning 74 facet step cut that combines the elegance of baguettes and emeralds with the vibrant sparkles of all the brilliant cuts. Okay, just kidding you don’t have to just imagine it because it exists and is not only available in the super expensive diamond version but in the stunning AAA quality synthetic diamonds used in this ring I am obsessed with. It was created by the Royal Asscher Diamond Company, dubbed “Royal” by the royal family of the Netherlands for their bejeweled contributions to both the diamond industry and crown jewels. YUM!


ConstanceAbout Constance Palelei

As a self-taught designer and jeweler, I have been the jewelry industry outsider so I take great pride in being able to make jaw dropping jewelry more accessible to everyone, because everyone deserves luxury. I am the clumsy girl next door who happens to now be a jewelry expert. I know what it is like to work hard for your money and there is nothing more satisfying than purchasing something for yourself that is beautiful, durable and legitimately valuable.

I hold these truths to be self evident: Diamonds are a Girl’s Best Friend, and Gemstones are like Love Affairs. Goddesses drip in Gold but life isn’t the same without the Silver Lining. And as Coco Chanel said “Women should mix fake with real”. 😉 Oh and a little party never hurt nobody!

Leave a Reply

